top of page

 According to the 2nd Vatican Ecumenical Council: The purpose of the sacraments is to sanctify man. Through them, man becomes capable of receiving grace, worshiping God correctly, and exercising love.  The word sacrament comes from the Latin word sacramentum. The corresponding Greek word used by the Orthodox Church is mysterion.

The Catholic Church has seven sacraments:

 Weyden: Baptism, confirmation, ripple


The Catholic Church uses infant baptism. Parents are encouraged  point after the birth of the child to take the child for baptism. A godfather belonging to the Catholic Church is chosen for him, but the witness may be from another Christian church. If the person to be baptized is an adult, it is often customary to baptize him or her at Easter (according to early tradition)

"I baptize you in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit."  With these words, the priest baptizes the child / adult and lies clean water on his head.


Man receives new life in Christ and is cleansed of all his sins as well as original sin. He will be associated with the heavenly as well as the earthly church. Baptism is performed only once in a person’s life, as the Catholic Church accepts the baptisms of other Christian churches as well.

Confirmation of baptism (confirmation)

After the teaching of the Church, a person who has been baptized can be confirmed. The child is considered to have reached the age where he or she can be responsible for his or her own spiritual life.

Improvement or rip

The Church considers that she has received authority from God to forgive people for their sins. One must feel remorse for one’s actions. He turns to the priest and confesses to him the deeds he has experienced as a sin. Catholic churches have special hanging chairs for this delivery with a curtain between the street and the priest. Ripping can also happen in other ways. The priest gives the street remission of sins and orders atoning work, which can be, for example, fasting, making a pilgrimage, visiting a tomb of a saint, or other ...

2sevens (1).jpg

The Eucharist

Other names include: Lord's Supper, Breaking the Bread, Eucharistic Gathering, Commemorating the Resurrection of the Lord's Suffering, Holy Sacrifice, Mass Sacrifice, Communion

Only members of the Catholic Church are allowed to attend the supper. He who comes to the communion is required to fast for at least an hour before this. Both communion items, bread and wine, are distributed to the parishioners. The Catholic Church has a doctrine of transubstantiation, which means that the sacraments, bread and wine, secretly become the body and blood of Christ when the priest lifts them up at the altar, relieving the little bell and the church people falling to their knees. The bread and wine have become the body and blood of Christ.


The Church obliges all parishioners to attend the sacrament at least on Sundays and especially at Christmas, Epiphany, and the holy day of Christ’s ascension. On these holidays before attending supper, it is also customary to go hanging out.

Weyden: The Eucharist

The Sacrament of Initiation

There are three degrees of sacrament of initiation:

1.Bishopric, 2nd priesthood, and 3.diaconate.

1. Other bishops ordain a new bishop. The initiator receives the fullness of the priesthood and, as a sacramental pastoral mission, leads his own local diocese as its foreman.


2. The bishop ordains as priests only men who have completed the studies required for the office and have made the promise of marriage. In the ordination, the priest is empowered to serve as a pastor in the church, he can pass the sacraments and responsibly proclaim the word of God in his church.  

3.Also, only men are ordained to the office of deacon. The man must be a man who has given the promise of unmarriage at the age of 25 or who is already married for 35 years. Their mission is to serve under the authority of the bishop, for example, in various charity, proclamation of the word, and liturgical duties.

The Sacrament of Marriage

According to the Catholic view, marriage is more than just a sacrament of consecration. Marriage is meant to last until the death of another. The Church does not accept divorce, even if it has been granted by secular law. In this regard, the church cannot inaugurate the divorced.

If a Catholic wants to marry a non-Catholic, he or she must ask for special permission from the priest of his ward. However, the church hopes to be able to participate in some way in a wedding ceremony organized by another church.

Weyden: the priesthood, marriage, the anointing of the sick

Hanging chair

The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick

Sometimes this sacrament is erroneously called the last anointing. However, this sacrament can be delivered in several rounds. The Church hopes that relatives will notify their relatives in good time of the serious illness and invite the priest to the sick. The priest prays for the sick and anoints the sick with the oil intended for this purpose.


Sacramentals are ordinances ordained by the Church for various purposes in human life, they can be used to sanctify objects useful to people, to bless a new home, a new life situation, to bless buildings, to bless the grave, to exterminate evil.

The delivery always includes prayer and, as the case may be, laying on of hands, watering the water, making a cross sign.

Sources: Jaanu-Schröder 2008 High School Catholic Religion (p.116-118) Helsinki: Edita Prima oy  

bottom of page